September 2006


Dr. Charudutt Apte, Neurosurgeon (MS, MCH from CMC, Vellore), from
Pune Institute of Neurology and Sahyadri Hospitals, Pune and his team
of neurosurgeons, intensivists, will perform Neuro and Spine surgeries
at Vikram Hospital on a regular basis.

Over the last decade, they have operated over 7000 patients. He and
his team will offer the entire gamut of Neuro and Spine surgery at
Vikram Hospital which includes among others, brain aneurysm ligation,
clipping, Vascular Anomaly repair, surgeries for brain tumours,
pituitary adenomas, functional neurosurgery, for the first time in
Mysore, that is treatment for patients with tremor and Parkinson's
disease, Radiofrequency ablation of trigeminal neuralgia (intractable
facial pain).

Apart from these, patients with slipped disc, complex spine disease
requiring surgical correction will also be treated. People who are
suspected to be suffering from any of the above or who have been
advised neurosurgery may book an appointment for consultation on
Friday, 8th Sept. over Ph: 2412121.

Dr. S.B. Vikram, Managing Director, Vikram Hospital, has in a press
release stated that the hospital is being equipped with the finest
microscopic surgery equipments and all other instruments to enable
these complex elective neuro surgeries and they will be performed at a
significantly reasonable price to make it affordable to all.


Delhi Medical Association, New Delhi, in commemoration of 'Doctor's
Day' has conferred distinguished service awards on the two city
doctors in recognition of their exemplary achievements in their
respective fields and in appreciation of their creative and
constructive contributions to the Indian Medical Association, and to
society at large.

The awardees are Prof. (Dr.) Jayaprakash Shetty, Secretary, IMA D.K.
Branch and Professor, Department of Pathology, Kshema, Mangalore and
Prof. (Dr.) Ambareesha, Executive Committee member, IMA D.K. Br. and
HoD of Anaesthesiology, KMC Hospital, Mangalore. The Award consists of
a citation and a memento.

The President of Indian Medical Association, D.K. Branch Dr. Devdas
Rai has congratulated the award winners on their achievements. Both
graduated from Mysore Medical College, Mysore.